A Mobilized Community

Do you know how many people die from breast cancer in the United States every year?

40,000.

That is 40,000 too many.

It’s also just a number. It doesn’t tell the story of lives cut short, family and friends left grieving. It doesn’t speak of the three million breast cancer survivors currently living in the United States who have been changed by their battle.

There is good news, however, and it deserves reflection.

The good news about that number is that it’s on the decline. This is due in large part to early detection, improved treatment, and compelling research.

We know the mantra, “Early detection saves lives.” We know it because it has been repeated over and over and over again by people who have been personally effected by this disease. This is what happens when a community mobilizes, makes some noise, and educates the public.

They save lives.

******

Do you know how many people die from Epilepsy in the United States each year?

50,000.

That is 50,000 too many.

It’s also just a number. It doesn’t tell the story of lives cut short, family and friends left grieving. It doesn’t speak of the three million people currently living in the United States with Epilepsy whose lives have been changed by their battle.

The message of the Epilepsy community will be different from the breast cancer community because there is nothing you can do to prevent Epilepsy. Most of the research dollars in Epilepsy funding go toward improving medication. While that is important, there is a greater need to understand the mechanisms of Epilepsy, or why exactly seizures happen.

This number needs to be on the decline, and until it is, those of us who have been personally effected will continue to mobilize, make some noise, educate the public, and hopefully….save lives.

This is why it matters to me:

7 thoughts on “A Mobilized Community

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  2. Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this
    blog and I am inspired! Extremely helpful info specifically the remaining section 🙂 I deal
    with such info a lot. I used to be looking for this particular info for a long
    time. Thank you and good luck.

  3. Simply wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your
    post is just cool and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  4. Pingback: Please Join Us | Team Aidan

I'd love to hear from you...