Independence Day

This time last year we were just finishing up our amazing home remodel. Our community came together to build us an accessible addition that would allow Aidan to roll around easily and us to shower him safely.

To see that people really do want to help, that sometimes we all just need a way into each other’s lives, was truly life changing. The work days, conversations and shared meals, the asking and receiving – all of it was incredible. I may never take it all in with the magnituded I did during our Open House because we’re busy just living here now. But I still find quiet moments to look at the mantel around the pellet stove or the beautiful wood floors, the mural in Aidan’s room that reminds us to “Dream Big,” the calm colors everywhere in our house and just take it in. Soak in that feeling of gratitude, of belonging, of not being alone.

And this is what the house renovations have done on a most practical level – Aidan wheels around now mostly on his own. I should probably stay closer to him because of his seizures, but when I’m feeling lazy I mostly just lend an ear to his movements. Last night I yelled from the living room that he had five minutes until bedtime and to please head to the bathroom. This is what I found:

IMG_6944

He loves to wheel around in the bathroom because the floor of the shower has a slight tilt to it, but never has he wheeled up to the sink on his own and never in my long legged life did I expect him to pick up his toothbrush and start brushing his teeth all by his dang self!! This activity would not have been possible without an accessible bathroom and his smarty pants driving skills.

Independent mobility, receptive language, and community win again!

12 thoughts on “Independence Day

  1. That’s so wonderful! I love it! And if you figure out how he decided to pick up a toothbrush and brush his teeth, will you share? 🙂

  2. Laurie Hollman PhD at Parental Intelligence
    It’s great to be reminded that people are around who like to help out. Neighborhood is still part of the world. Wonderful!

I'd love to hear from you...